Recent Posts

Breaking News

DFA resumes select consular offices on May 4

By Javier J. Ismael/The Manila Times

THE Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) announced that consular offices (COs) in Cotabato, La Union, Puerto Princesa, Santiago and Tuguegarao will resume operations starting Monday, May 4, while other offices in the rest of Luzon will still be closed until the end of the extended community quarantine. DFA Assistant Secretary for Consular Affairs Neil Frank Ferrer said while operations at the reopened COs would resume, the public would be informed of measures set in place for the health and safety of the public and the DFA personnel attending to their consular needs. “We seek the understanding of the public as we shift to a “new normal” process [in order] that we can minimize potential health hazards for applicants and our personnel alike while ensuring the prompt and efficient delivery of consular services to the public,” Ferrer explained. Applicants availing of consular services, such as passport issuance or renewal, will now need to schedule an appointment via email. They are also encouraged to avail of online payments and delivery of passports to minimize physical contact.


No comments