Recent Posts

Breaking News

Oath-taking of 2,103 new lawyers today via video conferencing


By Rey Panaligan

The Supreme Court (SC) will hold online via video conferencing starting at 2 p.m. today, June 25, the oath-taking of 2,103 new lawyers who passed the 2019 bar examinations.

SC Spokesperson Atty. Brian Keith F. Hosaka said that online oath- taking, the first in the history of the country’s process of admitting new lawyers in the practice of law, will be linked to a government television network for broadcast.

The release of the results of the 2019 bar examinations was done online by the SC last April 29 through its website – – because of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic that forced the government to declare a national health emergency and imposed quarantine.

The signing of the roll of attorneys, the last step to becoming a full-fledged lawyer, will be done from July 6 to August 3 at the SC offices on Padre Faura Street, Ermita, Manila.

Today’s online program will start with the call to order by Chief Justice Diosdado M. Peralta.

The invocation will be led by Associate Justice Jose C. Reyes Jr.

The recognition of examiners and the petition for admission to the bar will be done by Senior Associate Justice Estela M. Perlas Bernabe, chairperson of the 2019 bar examinations committee.

The oath will be administered to the new lawyers by SC Clerk of Court Edgar O. Aricheta.

Associate Justice Marvic Mario Victor F. Leonen, the chairperson of the 2020 bar examinations committee, will deliver his address.

The number of 2019 bar passers represents 27.36 per cent of the 7,685 law graduates who took the 2019 bar examinations administered by the SC last November.

Mae Diane M. Azores of the University of Santo Tomas (UST), formerly Aquinas University, in Legaspi City topped the examinations with a rating of 91.0490 per cent.

The other topnotchers are Princess Fatima T. Parahiman, University of the East, 2nd place, 89.5230 per cent; Myra M. Baranda, UST-Legaspi, 3rd , 88.8250; Dawna Fya O. Bandiola, San Beda College (Alabang), 4th , 88.3360; Jocelyn B. Fabello, Palawan State University, 5th, 88.2630; Kenneth Glenn L. Manuel, UST, 6th, 88.1730; Rhowee D Buergo, Jose Rizal University, 7th, 87.8710; Anton Luis A. Avila, Saint Louis University, 8th, 87.5820; Jun Dexter H. Rojas, Polytechnic University of the Philippines, 87.5765; and Bebelan A. Madera, University of St. La Salle, 10th, 87.3795.

The 2019 bar examiners are Dean Sedfrey M. Candelaria and former commissioner Rene V. Sarmiento for Political Law and Public International Law; Dean Salvador A. Poquiz and retired SC Justice Arturo D. Brion, Labor Law and Social Legislation; Associate Justice Priscilla J. Baltazar Padilla and Dean Cynthia R. Del Castillo, Civil Law; Associate Justice Japar B. Dimaampao and Atty. Lily K. Gruba, Taxation; Associate Justice Maria Rowena G. Modesto San Pedro and Atty. Francisco Ed Lim, Mercantile Law; Judge Selma P. Alaras and Associate Justice Apolinario D. Bruselas Jr., Criminal Law; Associate Justice Maria Filomena D. Singh and Assistant Solicitor General Marissa Macaraig Guillen, Remedial Law; and Associate Justice Maria Theresa V. Mendoza Arcega and Commissioner Pablo C. Espiritu, Legal Ethics and Practical Exercises.

Source: Manila Bulletin (

No comments